Skip Navigation

Fort Worth Academy was established in the spring of 1982 through the collaborative efforts of parents and university educators who wanted a non-traditional school experience for children. FWA was founded on the ideals of innovative, forward-thinking educational practices, of creating authentic learning opportunities for students, and—above all else—cultivating a love of learning. The school is an independent, preparatory day school for kindergarten through eighth grade students.

In photo: (seated, left to right) Lara Newman, Mark Russell, and Peggy Smith-Barbaro, PhD; (standing, left to right) Andrew Hawkins, Eve Shulman, PhD, Semi Ali, M.D., Shanda Ranelle, Sue Anderson, EdD, Cheryle Hays, Johnathan Killebrew. Not pictured: Jami Kern, MBA, PhD, Doug Roberts, PhD, Azure Spanier

2022-2023 Board of Trustees

PRESIDENT: Shanda Ranelle

VICE PRESIDENT: Andrew Hawkins

SECRETARY:  Azure Spanier

TREASURER: Mark Russell

Trustees: Semi Ali, M.D.; Sue Anderson, Ed.D.; Tim Hardman; Cheryle Hays; Jami Kern, MBA, Ph.D.; Johnathan Killebrew; Sara Murphy, Ph.D.; Lara Newman; Doug Roberts, Ph.D.; Eve Shulman, Ph.D.

Ex-Officio Member:  Shannon Elders, Head of School

Applications Due